Recent Searches
Clear

Mostar and Medjugorje Day Trip from Dubrovnik

|
Dubrovnik, Croatia
Mostar and Medjugorje Day Trip from Dubrovnik
Likely to Sell OutLikely to Sell Out

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
0 Adults1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults14 Adults15 Adults
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


Safety measures
icon11 hours  (approx.)
Pickup from select hotels
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English

Overview

While in Dubrovnik, head to another country for the day to see the best of Bosnia and Herzegovina on a guided day trip. Stop in UNESCO-protected Počitelj, which boasts beautiful historical sites, then, head to Medjugorje, the place where, in 1981, six children saw an apparition of the Virgin Mary and has been one of the most popular spots for Catholic pilgrimage in the world. Finally, continue on to Mostar with its stunning bridge.
  • Day trip to Bosnia and Herzegovina from Dubrovnik
  • Visit the UNESCO World Heritage-listed Pocitelj city center
  • Enjoy a walking tour of Medjugorje, an important pilgrimage location for the Catholic world
  • See the Old Bridge in Mostar, a UNESCO World Heritage Site
Saved to wishlist!
Transport by air-conditioned vehicle
Tour Guide
Tour Guide in Mostar
English Speaking Driver
Gratuities
Food and drinks, unless specified

Hmm...we can’t seem to find this place. Please check the spelling, or choose another location.

This activity will end right where it started.The pick-up times are different for each location. Our reservations team will contact you with the exact pick-up time.
Get the most out of your time on the southern Dalmatian Coast by booking this full-day trip to see the highlights of the neighboring country, Bosnia and Herzegovina. After getting picked up at your hotel and meeting your guide, enjoy the trip north of the city, passing through rustic seaside villages until you get to the border (don’t forget your passport!).

Then carry on inland, stopping in Počitelj, a UNESCO-listed town. Take a stroll around town, and learn about its history as you stop to admire the historical structures of Haji-Ali Mosque and Sahat-kula, a silo-shaped fort on top of the hill above the town.

Drink in the views of the Bosnian countryside as the air-conditioned coach snakes its way toward Medjugorje. Once in the town, hop off the bus for a closer look at this spiritually important town. It all started in 1981 when six children claimed they’d been visited by the Virgin Mary. And ever since then, Medjugorje has been an important stop on the Catholic pilgrimage trail. Take some free time here to explore the town and even attend a church service, if you wish.

Then journey on to Mostar, a historical and culturally significant Balkan town, most known for its jaw-dropping beautiful bridge, connecting the Muslim to the Catholic sides of town. Stroll the streets of the town and take some time to witnesses the daredevils diving off of the bridge. 

Head back to Dubrovnik and continue enjoying the views of the countryside until you’re dropped back off at your hotel.
Itinerary
Pass By:  
Dubrovnik
The tour starts with an early pick-up in Dubrovnik.
Stop At:  
Medjugorje
Enjoy free time to tour the most popular religious destination in the region.
Duration: 45 minutes
Admission Ticket Free
Stop At:  
Mostar
Take a 1 hour walking tour with your guide. Learn all about the history of the Old Town and the iconic Old Bridge. After, enjoy free time to explore on your own.
Duration: 3 hours 
Admission Ticket Free
Stop At:  
Pocitelj
Stop at the UNESCO-listed medieval town of Pocitelj on your way back. Take a break from the drive back and climb up the tower overlooking the Neretva river.
Duration: 30 minutes
Admission Ticket Free
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • If you would like to swap the Medjugorje stop with a visit to Kravica waterfalls, please contact the local supplier at least a day before the tour. The number is provided on your voucher.
  • A current valid passport is required on the day of travel
  • Minimum numbers apply. There is a possibility of cancellation after confirmation if there are not enough passengers to meet requirements. In the event of this occurring, you will be offered an alternative or full refund. The minimum number of passengers to run the tour is 4
  • The Old Bridge in Mostar may be slippery.
  • Near public transportation
  • Infant seats available
  • Your pick-up time may differ from the advertised start time. This is because pick-up times are regulated around the core of the Old Town.
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 50 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Super Tours
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the pick up location?
A:We only offer pickup from central districts. Let us know where you are staying in the 'Special Requirements' box in the Traveler Details section during checkout. Or you can let us know after booking by visiting 'Manage my Booking' and emailing us there.
Jul 2019
Q:
Where is the meeting point?
A:The meeting point for this tour will be at Pile gate by the Gift Shop Dubravka.
Jul 2019
Q:
What is the policy on sanitization during Mostar and Medjugorje Day Trip from Dubrovnik?
A:The policies on sanitization are:

  • Gear/equipment sanitized between use
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
See all safety measures taken by Mostar and Medjugorje Day Trip from Dubrovnik.
Q:
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Mostar and Medjugorje Day Trip from Dubrovnik?
A:The policies on staff health & safety are:

  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Regular temperature checks for staff
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
See all safety measures taken by Mostar and Medjugorje Day Trip from Dubrovnik.

Traveler Photos

See More
See More

Traveler Tips


  • "There is a lot of time spent on the road for this trip so be prepared." See review
  • "Whilst there is a lot of driving on this trip, I think that it is worth the time in the minibus." See review

Reviews by Viator travelers.  We perform checks on reviews

Reviews

4.0
star-4
684 Reviews

Reviews by Viator travelers

We perform checks on reviews

Showing 1-10 of 684 reviews
star-5
Stunning town. Mostar is beautiful
Dave_W
, Aug 2022
We loved this trip. Mostar is absolutely stunning, though would recommend taking plenty of water as it gets very hot! Stunning views in the city and very informative history about the region and conflict. The drive itself is also stunning down the coastal road ... Though be prepared to have your passport ready !
star-2
Not much to see in Mostar...
RamonitaAla_I
, Jul 2022
Not much to see in Mostar except the bridge. We had a heavy downpour with strong winds so we were stuck in a store we took shelter then 2.5 hours were gone. Not worth the long drive. Medjugorje we had an hour so we attended a mass. No time to go to the apparition hill just at the church.
star-2
Wouldn’t recommend
Alva_T
, Jul 2022
I’ve joined these kinds of tours in many other countries, but this tour didn’t live up to expectations when it comes to tour guide explaining the history and landmarks. The so called tour guide was more like a driver and just took us from 1 place to next, didn’t tell us much about the history or what landmarks we passed by. There also seemedlike too many bathrooms stops in between for him to take smoke breaks.
star-3
very short explanations about cities
Ayumi_S
, Jul 2022
The cities of Mostar, and Medjugorje were beautiful, but I felt the explanations about both the cities were not enough. At Mostar, we heard around 30 minutes with the guide speaking, then we had free time of 2 hours and a half. I wanted to hear more about the history, culture and geography of the cities.
star-5
Long day but we’ll worth it.
Brian_L
, Jul 2022
It was a long day but very worthwhile to do. The best part for us was Mostar - beautiful town and amazing (rebuilt after the war) bridge complete with professional divers. We also visited Kravica waterfalls which were lovely although a taxing climb up and down to get to them. We finished up with a trip to a picturesque small town called Positelj with a beautiful mosque and stunning views.
star-2
Faulty Towers on Wheels
Shane_R
, Jul 2022
First the good - getting to visit Medjugorje then see the beautiful town of Mostar was a privilege, the guide Irfan in Mostar was amazing - you could see the love he held for the city and the pain in his eyes recalling its recent history. It felt really special to visit and experience this. However, at the start of the day the driver arrived to the agreed meeting point 15mins late and then despite booking for 3 adults there was only space for 2 and my sister was forced to stay behind so as you can imagine a pretty disappointing start to the day. We made our first stop at Medjugorje where we had one hour - unfortunately our party (of 2 now) and another guest arrived back to the minibus at 1148 instead of the agreed 1145 where the driver proceeded to shout at me for being disrespectful to the other 5 people on the tour (bare in mind how we felt at my sister being left behind for the day to begin with). He then continued to bang on about our lack of timekeeping to the other guests as we drove towards Mostar which given the circumstances left a really bad taste. None of the other guests cared and it was extremely unprofessional. In the end we had to wait some time for our guide in Mostar so there was absolutely no reason to be so explosive over a couple of minutes. I would also add that the driver kept trying to catch one of the guests on her own to talk to her and it made her extremely uncomfortable to the extent that she left the van with us when we got back to DBV for her own comfort and safety rather than risk getting dropped back alone. Again, extremely unprofessional. The driver did apologise over the booking mixup which I appreciate was not his fault but in the round our experience getting to and from Medjugorje and Mostar fell far short of expectations.
star-5
A great option for one day
Monica_A
, Jul 2022
Although the driving was a little long, visiting these places were worth it. The guide provided background history to some of the places, especially the bridge.
star-4
Early start meeting at...
Paul_C
, Jul 2022
Early start meeting at Pile Gate Dubrovnik. Many people around with no distinction of whom was the representative of what company, very confusing and frustrating. A simple sign would alleviate the problem. The guide was very good. She explained the history of the places we saw with some local tips. A major problem was the bus air conditioner, it was useless. In 40 deg Mostar heat I expected better, well something at least. Very uncomfortable ride.
star-1
The worst tour experience of my life
Richard_M
, Jul 2022
This is the worst day trip tour experience I’ve ever had. Start the trip in the early morning by walking onto the bus and happily greeting the driver “good morning! Is this the bus to Bosnia?” - response was “no coffee on the bus” in a rude, gruff manner. Not even a ‘hello’. Let me add right here, the bud they use has either zero air conditioning, or so little air conditioning that’s it’s hours on end of sweating and stickiness and people complaining about the damp humid hot conditions (rightfully). The woman who accompanied the driver and did the talking was pleasant but gave relatively little information about the regions we were visiting. Basically just the bare bare minimum. The Medjugorje stop doesn’t even allow you enough time to see apparition hill, which is the entire reason medjugorje even exists. No instructions were given at all when we got off the bus as to which direction to even begin walking. They drop passengers off at a waterfall and collect money from them to go see the waterfall. Then return and pick them up in an hour. Then travel to Mostar. The driver got lost or supposedly there was a “road construction” this put us in Mostar almost 90 minutes late while the driver did a huge circle around the city and people yelled at him for trying to take the huge coach bus down tiny side streets because he was lost. Meanwhile it’s way past lunch time and your clothes are soaked from sweat. When we finally figured out where we were going we met the local tour guide for the walking tour. The guy was honestly a head case. Yelling about how we were late, giving everyone an attitude when the group didn’t want to collect 50 euros to watch a local jump off the famous bridge, making fun of a woman in our group that told him “not everyone has 50 euros”. Very uncomfortable situation. Back to the 95 degree bus to the final stop. A little stop off the highway with a small mosque. I don’t even remember the name. Everyone just stood there for 30 minutes and bought water from the restaurant that’s in the parking lot of the mosque. Clearly this stop was a money maker for the tour company. Just a complete waste of time. Very little history or explanation given about the location. Then it’s back to Dubrovnik in the hot sweaty bus where they drop you off outside the city because busses aren’t allow back in the evening because of traffic. Now you get in a small van that they arrange to take you to your original pickup point. The driver of that van did the “no one minds if I just let you all off here because it’s kind of close because I have to go do some other pickup” I had to tell the guy “no!” And as it turns out he was trying to get us off roughly a mile away from where we should have been. Remember, at this point we have all been sweating for 9 hours roughly and everyone is absolutely exhausted. This was a terrible experience. This company “super tours” is probably about as bad as it gets.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-1
Felt cheated by super tours
alexandre_d
, Jul 2022
Despite the notable efforts of the driver and guide and the extraordinary destination, it was an unpleasant experience. Super tours got cheap and combined two groups with two different programa in the same bus. I had to spend my precious vacation time driving all the way to kravice falls to drop part of the group off. In the end i have spent nearly 16 hours in the bus!!!!!! An experience i’d rather not repeat
star-5
Mostar
Barry_L
, Jul 2022
Great tour - the tour guide in Mostar was absolutely brilliant, couldn’t have been better. 100% worth doing
star-5
The new driver- Igor- was the best - Great tour, add time in some locations
amy_a
, Jul 2022
I took this tour last Sunday July 3, 2022. I had read all of the reviews before I took the tour, so I was a bit scared. People had complained about being in a hot van, with no air conditioning, and those comments worried me, so I was a bit hesitant. I signed up for the tour, which was supposed to originally be on a Saturday but I got a text on Friday stating that this tour was being switched with the Montenegro tour I had signed up for—they switched the days. No problem. For this tour, I was picked up exactly on time by the driver named Igor S or C. He mentioned that he had just started /joined the company like 2 days ago to give the tour. He was SO SWEET AND SO KIND. I do not know what I enjoyed more- the tour or his kind words, history, and stories. He is such a great story teller and knew so much about the region. He picked me up in a Mercedes black van, WITH AIR CONDITIONING, exactly on time. After he picked me up, we picked up the rest of the people. There were 8 passengers in total in the van, plus the driver, so it was a packed van. First we drove to a rest stop and had 5 minutes. But the lines are long, so really we need 10 minutes at that rest stop. Next we drove through the borders. The Croatian and Bosnian border is quite intriguing in terms of its creation, so keep your passports out because you will go through at least 4 border checks. Our first stop was Medugorje. I believe many people go to this place expecting to see the religious statute it is known for. But you need at least one hour to walk up the path to see the religious figure. However, you are only given 45 minutes at this stop. Therefore, my suggestion for the Tour owner is that they need to give us at least 2 hours at this stop, and not just 45 minutes. We all wanted to see the popular statue and that’s why many of us booked this tour, but we could not because we were unaware that we had to climb up a path which would take an hour. Suggestion : add time to this stop or create a tour where you only go to this place so people have enough time. Next Stop : Mostar, Bosnia and Herz. Here we met a lady who was a “tour guide”. She was nice but her presence as a guide was quite quick. We met her at the tower, she walked us through the streets, through the market, walked us to the bottom of the Mostar Bridge where we all took pictures, she talked about the bridge, then she walked us to the top of the bridge, then she escorted us into a bookshop , where a man shared with us the history of the bridge, and that was it, her duties ended. But, there are many other things to see in this town, so I did not understand why she did not show us what was beyond the bridge. Why does her tour just end at the shop? I thought this was a bit odd. So if you go here, you may want to hire another tour guide to show you around Mostar, because the lady stops at the bridge basically. I believe we had at least 3 hours at this stop. Next Stop: After Mostar, and after we all had time to eat or shop, or both, we met back up with our great guide Igor, and he drove us to a place called Portecij. We had a few minutes here, I think only 25 minutes. There is an important site here, but with 25 minutes and the heat, it would have been impossible to see it. The tour owners need to adjust their times, based on heat and the season. When it is 100 degrees out, things can not be done so quickly as they can be done when the weather is cooler, this needs to be taken into account. I believe after those locations we returned to Croatia. The drive, Igor, was so wonderful. What I liked about him the most was his attention to detail. He spoke to everyone to ensure we were all okay. He never excluded anyone, and he remembered everyone’s name. He always told us exactly how much time we had at each spot, and always told us exactly where to meet him at each spot. I also appreciated the fact that he was a VERY SAFE driver!! He never drove fast, he always took his time, and he NEVER drove while on his mobile phone..NEVER!! This is why I felt so safe and at ease with him, because he knew that he was driving people and did not risk our lives. I greatly appreciated this. His English was good, he was so kind, and knowledgeable. He is a smart guy with such a warm heart. It was an honor to meet him, and learn about the area from such a kind person. If I ever return to Croatia, I will participate in any tour Igor is participating in because he was such a wonderful person who truly added a great spirit. He is such an asset for this tour. This tour would not have been so great if there had been another driver. Igor truly added his elegance and grace to this tour, making it above and beyond my expectations.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-4
Good tour. Very informative.
Stephen_W
, Jul 2022
It was a great trip. Lots of beautiful scenery along the way. Interesting stops. We thought it would be a coach, but there were only 6 of us in a van. The guide, a young lady, was an excellent driver, full of interesting information, and made sure things ran smoothly. The walking tour guide in Mostar was informative and very passionate about his country. The “30-45 minute” walking tour was still going when my wife and I had to tip him and leave to eat, spend some time visiting sites on our own and get back to the bus. The guide went so long that people had to rush to eat and use restrooms, much less do anything else. This was the only disappointment of the tour, but again, I respect the local guide and his love of his country.
star-1
Not worth the $150 private tour
Rakesh_H
, Jul 2022
Too short in medjugorje. Which was the nice part. We had a local guide in mostor who showed up 25 mins late, spent entire walking tour talking about how he fought in Bosnian war, how Serbs raped his city women, showed off his bullet wounds, and veered off track. Felt like we were in a script of a fading war hero retelling his glory day. 3 hrs in mostor is waste. Had to find ways to kill the time. Visitor, please find better local guides.
icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
Hi Rakesh, Thank you for your review. Your group booked a small group tour option, not a private tour. Small group tours are still group tours and adhere to a schedule. We also offer a private tour of only Medjugorje for those wishing to spend their day there. Feel free to contact us in the future if you would like it arranged. Thank you for booking with us, SuperTours
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-1
Bait and Switch
Diane_K
, Jun 2022
This could have been a wonderful day, but instead it felt like a bait and switch. We were supposed to travel by "coach" but instead had a ride of terror in a rickety van that stalled out on one occasion. The pick-up time was advertised to be 8:00 a.m.; we received a notification the day before that we would be leaving at 7:10 a.m. - so much for being able to eat the breakfast that we had already paid for as part of our hotel stay. Please stick to the tour description if you hope for satisfied customers.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Hello Diane, Thank you for your review. Pick-ups for a large area around the Old Town of Dubrovnik are not allowed after 7 a.m. Due to this regulation, many of our pick-ups are pushed a bit sooner. We apologize for the incovenience but the regulation was passed in order to protect the Old Town, and tour companies must abide by it. Thank you for booking with us, SuperTours team
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Great tour guide. Very passionate about mostar bridge
Lesley_S
, Jun 2022
Mostar is absolutely stunning. Such a quaint town with old cobbled streets. Our tour guide was very informative and passionate about the bridge. Stunning green waters and so scenic. Take plenty of photos if you go
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Great day trip !!
Antonio_F
, Jun 2022
This trip was a great experience. Was fortunate to be able to do it while in Croatia. The tour company was on time and kept me informed of pick up time and location, the guide was pleasant and extremely knowledgeable. Explained everything and was available to answer any question anyone had. He was the best !!!!
star-5
Great trip
Tony_S
, Jun 2022
Great trip mixing pleasure of siteseeing, bit of religion and exploring new lands!... Dana our guide, was very helpful, smart and educated! She showed us everything with the simplest detail ending by making a wish inside an old tour that might comes true....
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-2
Long time on coach- beautiful towns though
Angela_U
, Jun 2022
Firstly the times changed the evening before to 6.30 pick up. Travelled over 4.5 hrs to have only 50 minutes in Medjugorie. Then 3hrs in Mostar and then another 4.5 hrs return. Disappointed that we only had short time in Medjugorie. Enjoyed our time but coach with no toilet and journey time was a nightmare.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Hi Angela, Thank you for your review. The trip took longer than usual because of construction on one of the main roads leading to Mostar in Bosnia and Herzegovina. Because of that, we sometimes have to take a longer route. The trip from Dubrovnik to Mostar takes much less time under normal circumstances. We apologize for the inconvenience. Thank you for booking with us.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-2
Could've went on your own
A_T
, May 2022
I thought it would be a big bus but it turned out to be a 8 seater van. Seats were very comfortable and luxurious. Medjugorje was a complete waste of time and total tourist trap. I would've rather gone to the waterfall instead, so i dont know why that wasn't an option? Mostar was... rich with history and the old town was small. Bosnian food was really delicious. I found the local tour guide to be mediocre, as he kept inserting little comments here and there while trying to tell us about Bosnia's history from his perspective? In addition, he kept talking while on the streets (really harsh sun and super hot without shades) while other tour guides were up and moving. (just my two cents and experience) Also, on the way back I had no idea why there was this guy was sitting next to me since on the way there I didn't have anybody sitting next to me. (I sat in the front) So, I was squished for four hours and it was painful. I couldn't move much and I couldn't put my foot out. It also seemed like the guy who sat next to me knew the tour guide? I didn't pay €54.00 to be squished for four hours while other people in the back sat comfortably. But the driver was really nice and humorous.
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Thank you for your review, We also operate a tour to Kravica waterfalls, if you had contacted us we would have gladly switched your tour from Medjugorje to Kravica. Thank you for booking with us.

Why you are seeing these recommendations

Compare Similar Experiences

Current
Mostar and Medjugorje Day Trip from Dubrovnik
Likely to Sell Out
Mostar and Medjugorje Day Trip from Dubrovnik

star-4684

11 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$55.34

star-410

9 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$97.36

star-461

12 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$46.12

star-41321

4 hours 45 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$57.39

star-316

11 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$59.44

star-4.58

11 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$92.24

star-3.515

3 hours 45 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$99.92
Why you are seeing these recommendations

Explore Similar Things to Do

Why you are seeing these recommendations