Recent Searches
Clear

Skip-the-Line Florence Duomo with Brunelleschi's Dome Climb

|
Badge of Excellence
|
Firenze, Italy
Skip-the-Line Florence Duomo with Brunelleschi's Dome Climb
33

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children10 Children
Free Cancellation
up to 24 hours in advance
Loading available options...


Safety measures
icon2 hours  (Approx.)
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English

Overview

Travel to the top of Brunelleschi’s Dome, Florence’s most iconic attraction, with this skip-the-line entrance ticket and tour. Follow your guide through the cathedral and up to the terraces for an exclusive close-up view of the dome. Explore passages closed to the public and get a magnificent look at the city skyline.
  • Enjoy a guided visit to the Cathedral, the Dome, the North Terrace, and the Baptistery
  • Head inside areas of the Duomo not open to the public
  • See panoramic views of Florence from the top of Brunelleschi's Dome
  • Maximum of 16 people for a more intimate experience
Saved to wishlist!
Expert Local guide
Skip-the-Line Duomo tickets
Guided tour of the interior and roof
Gratuities

Departure Point

Via dei Cimatori, 9R, 50122 Firenze FI, Italy

Departure Time

1:45 PM

Return Details

Piazza del Duomo, 50122 Firenze FI, Italy
Meet your guide at a central meeting point and head over to the bustling square of the Duomo. In peak time, the entrance lines to the Florence Duomo can take over two hours, but you enjoy priority access with your skip-the-line ticket and head straight inside.

Hear the fascinating history behind the dome before beginning the ascent up its 463 steps—expect a steep climb. As you travel up, admire the frescoes from Renaissance artists like Zuccari and Vasari on the two shells of the dome.

Then, arrive at the top and enjoy the reward for all your hard work. Stroll along the cupola’s balcony to soak up 360-degree views of Florence and the Tuscan hills stretched out below. Your guide provides insightful background on Filippo Brunelleschi, the architect behind this Renaissance masterpiece.

Before parting ways with your guide, receive tickets to the museum to continue exploring independently.
Itinerary
Stop At:  
Duomo - Cattedrale di Santa Maria del Fiore
Learn about the construction of the Duomo, its architectonical style and the important events that happened inside there. Admire the Dome from a special point of view and the panorama over Florence. Climb to the top of the dome and hear about the construction of the Dome and admire the best panorama over the city.
Duration: 1 hour 
Admission Ticket Included
Stop At:  
Piazza del Duomo
View the Duomo from the outside.
Duration: 10 minutes
Admission Ticket Free
Stop At:  
Museo dell'Opera del Duomo
Learn about the masterpieces of the museum - such as the original doors of the Baptistery, Pietà by Michelangelo, Mary Magdalene by Donatello.
Duration: 25 minutes
Admission Ticket Included
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Good physical condition required
  • Minimum age is 7 years
  • Good walking shoes required
  • A dress code is required to enter places of worship and selected museums. No shorts or sleeveless tops allowed. Knees and shoulders MUST be covered for both men and women. You may risk refused entry if you fail to comply with these dress requirements
  • No heart problems or other serious medical conditions
  • Travelers should have a moderate physical fitness level
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 10 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Italy Segway Tours

For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.

  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.

  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during Skip-the-Line Florence Duomo with Brunelleschi's Dome Climb?
A:
The policies on face masks and attendee health are:

  • Face masks required for travelers in public areas
  • Face masks required for guides in public areas
  • Face masks provided for travelers
See all safety measures taken by Skip-the-Line Florence Duomo with Brunelleschi's Dome Climb.
Q:
What is the policy on sanitization during Skip-the-Line Florence Duomo with Brunelleschi's Dome Climb?
A:
The policies on sanitization are:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Gear/equipment sanitized between use
See all safety measures taken by Skip-the-Line Florence Duomo with Brunelleschi's Dome Climb.
Q:
What is the social distancing policy during Skip-the-Line Florence Duomo with Brunelleschi's Dome Climb?
A:
The policy on social distancing is:

  • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
See all safety measures taken by Skip-the-Line Florence Duomo with Brunelleschi's Dome Climb.
Q:
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Skip-the-Line Florence Duomo with Brunelleschi's Dome Climb?
A:
The policy on staff health & safety is:

  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
See all safety measures taken by Skip-the-Line Florence Duomo with Brunelleschi's Dome Climb.
Q:
What is the maximum group size during Skip-the-Line Florence Duomo with Brunelleschi's Dome Climb?
A:
This activity will have a maximum of 10 travelers.

See all safety measures taken by Skip-the-Line Florence Duomo with Brunelleschi's Dome Climb.

Traveler Photos

Traveler Tips


  • "Bring water, it is a long, hot hike in the summer." See review
  • "It may be not suitable for those with bad legs on a tour that goes up about 400 to 500 stairs of Duomo." See review
  • "Meeting spot a little off the beaten path so give time to find the location." See review

Reviews

5.0
star-5
262 Reviews

Reviews by Viator travelers

Showing 1-10 of 262 reviews
star-5
Great tour experience
Amy_N
, Jul 2021
Elena was an excellent guide! The passageway to get to the top of the dome is quite narrow with low ceilings (tall people beware) and the steps are uneven in some places, but the view is so worth it.
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Great Florence trip!
Traveling_Family
, Jul 2021
Great tour of the museum and the Duomo! We first toured the museum before going into the Duomo. We found this very informative and helpful for understanding the history of the Duomo itself. Inside, the ceiling of the Duomo was breathtaking - as was the walk up to the top :) Be prepared for the climb, it's a bit of an effort, but very much worth it!
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Definitely worth the money!
Elizabeth_S
, Jul 2021
We had THE BEST guide—very enthusiastic, knowledgeable, and entertaining. Climbing up to the famed Duomo is a must—amazing views of the frescos on the inside of the dome (the last judgement) abs of the city/Tuscan hills from outside the dome.
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Great experience!
Gladys_D
, Jul 2021
We had a great time on tour! I definitely recommend adding this to your list when visiting Florence. Antonio was our guide, and he did a great job in sharing the history and pointing out certain details in the art and architecture. Everything went seamless from the booking of the tour till the end of the tour.
HelpfulHelpful
star-1
The worst scam EVER!
Margarita_W
, Jul 2021
It’s a scam. They never told us where to meet. When we finally talked to them they told us to wait at the entrance. We waited for an hour. Another family was there waiting as well and no one ever showed up. We called and they took our calls or returned them. Very disappointing, especially when you have kids excited for the experience. Now they continue to not return calls, emails or our money. DO NOT BOOK! It’s a SCAM. We went by their offices and it’s a small office with a different name closed and appears abandoned.
icon Response from Host , Jul 2021
Hello Margarita, and thank you for feedback. We want to reassure you here, as we did on the phone, that we did everything in our power to meet up with you. The meeting point for this tour (Via dei Cimatori, 9R, 50122 Firenze FI, Italy) is clearly stated on your confirmation email, as it is in the description of the tour, and on your pre-tour reminder email that you received a day prior to the tour. It is not possible to sell a tour on Viator without a clearly established meeting point. When we realized that you were not at the meeting point at the tour start time, we reached out to you by phone. Our guide agreed to bring the rest of the group to meet you at the Cathedral, however you were nowhere to be found upon his arrival. As we had other members of the tour that were on time and in the right place, we needed to continue with the tour. We repeatedly tried to reach you by phone, but were unable to do so. Viator is a marketplace for tours and activities, so the name 'Viator' is not listed on our office. This is made clear in the confirmation email. Our staff were present in our office throughout the day; perhaps you went by in the evening? We are very sorry that you missed your tour with us. We know that we went out of our way to locate you and get you integrated with the rest of the group. It's unfortunate that you weren't able to reach out to us ahead of the tour to confirm the meeting point, assuming this was not clear to you. We do hope that you enjoyed the rest of your time in Florence. It's unfortunate that others may read this review and think negatively of the experience; we can confirm that we had a lovely tour with those who arrived on time and in the right place.
HelpfulHelpful
star-3
Mediocre
Chris
, Sep 2020
Very hard to find key details (Eg, where and when to meet- hunt it was not at the Duomo or the time of the tour!), while simultaneously being told we must not wear shorts or sleeveless shirts (everyone in the place had them because it was a very hot day). Finally, despite the promise of “skipping the line”, we spent a good 30 minutes in A line. There are some excellent private tours in Florence- this unfortunately is not one of them because the company that handles it is a mess.
icon Response from Host , Sep 2020
Hi Chris, I am sorry that you did not enjoy your tour with us. We care about the experience of every customer that joins us on tour and try our best to exceed their expectations. I will address each of your points here separately to be able to reassure potential future guests with some broader context: 1. It seems that you had some trouble finding the meeting point. Navigating a foreign city can be difficult, so we clearly display the exact address, along with a map, in the confirmation email that you received at the time of booking. It is the address of our office which has not changed in 12 years - a 3 min walk from the Duomo where we meet for all our Florence Tours. The meeting time is also clearly displayed on that email and the attached voucher. 2. The rules regarding exposed shoulders and knees are passed to us directly by the management of the cathedral, and are in place due to the main hall being an active place of worship. We respect the rules of all the attractions that we visit, and make those rules plainly visible and easy to follow on that booking confirmation. 3. Due to the fact that we are in the midst of a global pandemic, there are some additional health and safety procedures that are required before entering the cathedral. This does unfortunately slow down the normal "skip the line" experience but we have yet to be delayed by more than 20 minutes. And while it is out of our control, 99% of the time the extra wait has been under 10 mins. Most of our customers fully appreciate the fact that for now, "normal" remains unfortunately just out of reach. 4. I wish I knew precisely what you meant by our company being “a mess” because we are always looking for ways to improve, but from my point of view I can tell you that I am surrounded by wonderful colleagues, working hard to smoothly navigate a very difficult moment and provide safe, fun tours and excellent customer service. As well as enthusiastically embracing the new health and safety regulations, and adapting our tours to better suit this current landscape, we are also happy to report that we have been able to keep all of our staff employed and maintain a near perfect record of satisfied customers every step of the way. In fact, yours is the first review under 5 stars that we have received in more than 7 months, and that includes the 8 other people on your tour. And it hurts! I really wish we had been able to show you a good time. We know that your holiday time is precious and if, despite our best efforts, you did not enjoy the 3 hours that you spent with us then we have failed at our mission, and for that I sincerely apologise.
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Climbing the dome
Linda_D
, Feb 2020
Helena was informative, upbeat and considerate. We had plenty of time to look around and take in the details of the tour.
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Perfect!
diane_g
, Feb 2020
Francesca was very professional and friendly.. She took the time to answer at all questions.. Good energy.. Thank you!
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Climbing the St. Peter’s Basillica dome.
zevcrawley
, Feb 2020
Bob (from Dublin) did an excellent job of providing information about the climb and points of interest from the top of the dome view. He also had very detailed information of the items in the Vatican. Wonderful tour!
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Amazing Duomo tour
naomiboness
, Feb 2020
Amazing tour that started in the museum before going to the church. We visited multiple levels within the Duomo, which breaked up the climb. Our guide, Antonio, was knowledgeable and interesting.
HelpfulHelpful

Explore Similar Things to Do