Recent Searches
Clear

Clear Kayak and Snorkel Adventure from Kihei

|
Badge of Excellence
|
Kihei, United States
Clear Kayak and Snorkel Adventure from Kihei
Likely to Sell OutLikely to Sell Out

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


Safety measures
icon3 hours  (approx.)
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English
Good for avoiding crowds

Operators have paid Viator more to have their experiences featured here

Overview

Get a new perspective on life under the sea with this adventure, which includes a clear kayak ride and a snorkeling trip. You'll head out to Makena Landing Park in Wailea, where you'll get to spot all sorts of local life, including coral and fish; if you're lucky, you might even see a sea turtle.
  • Experience the sea by kayak and with snorkeling
  • Bottled water and snacks will be provided
  • Whale-watching is available during the winter months
  • Private and group options are available
Saved to wishlist!
Snacks
Bottled water
Use of Snorkeling equipment
Gratuities
Private transportation
Lunch
Makena Landing Park , 5083 Makena Rd, Kihei, HI 96753, USA

Meet up is at the corner of MAKENA ROAD and HONOIKI STREET. You will see a blue Ford truck with "Ohana Ocean Adventures" stickers on the sides of the vehicle. If you need to catch an Uber then book the day before (not the morning of). If driving, there is plenty of parking area.

7:00 AM
This activity will end right where it started.
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking, unless booked within 1 day of travel. In this case confirmation will be received as soon as possible, subject to availability
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Infants must sit on laps
  • Individual weight limit is strictly 230 lbs due to the nature of our clear kayaks. If you weigh over 230 lbs, we reserve the right to cancel your reservation. This is for your own safety. We have 1 single non-clear kayak available per trip that doesn't have such a strict weight limit. This needs to be reserved ahead of time. It is company policy for our tour guides to weigh each individual using scales at the meeting location on the day of the tour. If you report your weight incorrectly and then weigh over the limit on the day then we will not be able to accommodate you and you will receive no refund. Please contact us if you have questions about weight distribution before booking.
  • Weight limit for tandem kayak is 420 lbs *Individual weight limit of 230 lbs still applies. You will automatically be assigned a tandem kayak for a booking of 2 adults. We are a small company and only have a limited number of clear kayaks for each tour.
  • If you have ANY medical conditions we need to be made aware of for your safety (including if you are pregnant) or if you have dietary restrictions then please advise us of this via email.
  • Travelers should have a moderate physical fitness level
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 8 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Ohana Ocean Adventures
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during Clear Kayak and Snorkel Adventure from Kihei?
A:The policies on face masks and attendee health are:

  • Face masks required for travelers in public areas
  • Face masks required for guides in public areas
See all safety measures taken by Clear Kayak and Snorkel Adventure from Kihei.
Q:
What is the policy on sanitization during Clear Kayak and Snorkel Adventure from Kihei?
A:The policies on sanitization are:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Gear/equipment sanitized between use
See all safety measures taken by Clear Kayak and Snorkel Adventure from Kihei.
Q:
What is the social distancing policy during Clear Kayak and Snorkel Adventure from Kihei?
A:The policy on social distancing is:

  • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
See all safety measures taken by Clear Kayak and Snorkel Adventure from Kihei.

Traveler Photos

See More
See More

Reviews

5.0
star-5
229 Reviews

Reviews by Viator travelers

We perform checks on reviews

Showing 1-10 of 229 reviews
star-5
Great time! Wonderful guide!
Erica_R
, Aug 2022
A great experience and a very kind tour guide. A lovely morning on and in the water! We saw fish! We saw turtles! It was a great experience!
star-4
Such a phenomenal experience!
Alexandria_M
, Aug 2022
This was a really great experience! I had a lot of anxiety at first because I had never been snorkeling before and I have a fear of open water. But I conquered that and had the most amazing time! The clear kayaks were really cool and give you a chance to see what you’ll be swimming around. It’s amazing passing over top of the rocks. Snorkeling was such an experience! I swam up close to sea turtles and saw some really cool fish, some right along the top of the water even. The tour guide was great and very informative and funny with several “dad jokes”. My only complaint and reason for not giving it five stars is because I felt the snorkeling should have been longer. Roughly 30 minutes wasn’t that long and being a first timer I had to take most of the time trying to adjust and get comfortable with my snorkel. I didn’t get to use my camera to take photos or videos and while the guide did (just pics but great quality pics) it of course (and understandably) comes with an extra price. So I think for the price of the excursion it should have allowed for a little more time in the water. But overall it is an absolutely phenomenal experience and I highly recommend you trying it out!
star-5
Snorkeling with the Turtles
Chris_Z
, Aug 2022
I liked the snorkeling part of the tour. It was fun to see multiple turtles and many types of tropical fish. Our guides were great. They kept us safe and out of trouble and made the excursion very enjoyable. Great people. The kayaks are made of clear plastic so you can see the bottom from the kayak. The snorkeling gear was of good quality and I had no problems with it. I didn't bring along a waterproof camera but I would highly recommend bringing/buying one. A goPro would be a good option.
star-5
Clear kayak totally fun!!
Elizabeth_D
, Jul 2022
The clear kayaks were fun and different. The water is super clear. We say a few turtles and some fun sea life. Definitely recommend this trip.
star-5
We had a great time!...
Anne_B
, Jul 2022
We had a great time! Derek was a wonderful guide. We saw several sea turtles, a lot of different fish, some beautiful coral. The water we kayaked in was crystal clear; you're over 15-40ft deep water and can see all the way to the bottom. Absolutely breathtaking to see a sea turtle swim below you and then get to swim with them later. Highly recommend this tour.
star-5
Great vacation experience
Jesenia_B
, Jul 2022
Calvin was so nice and knowledgeable. The clear kayaking brought it to a new level of fun. Calvin also took us to a cool cove we’re we got to see plenty of sea turtles. Thanks Calvin!!
star-5
The guide was very...
Kajal_M
, Jul 2022
The guide was very helpful and worked with all participants that made the whole event very enjoyable.
star-5
Amazing Kayak Adventure
Raven_G
, Jun 2022
My husband and I were first timers with the whole Kayak experience. It was an amazing time as we kayak through the water to get to a point where we snorkel and see the sea turtles, fish, and other sea life. Derek, our guide, was incredibly patient and kind. Definitely worth it!!
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Amazing Experience:)
Tabi_L
, May 2022
We had a great time with our kayak and snorkel tour. Curtis was our guide and did a great job. Such a great experience!!! Saw lots of turtles swimming under water! Definitely recommend this adventure :)
star-5
A Clear View -
Kent_H
, May 2022
Derek was a fabulous guide. Got us all in and out of the kayaks without incident found an amazing group of turtles for us to watch while we snorkeled, and shared interesting facts about the surrounding islands. Totally worth it!
star-5
Great morning of kayaking!
Jen_M
, May 2022
The clear kayak experience was very fun and the guides were great! Saw lots of fish, turtles, and even dolphins! The guides did a great job of keeping everyone safe and comfortable while sgaring great information!
icon Response from Host , May 2022
We are so happy to hear you had such a great experience with us! Weren't the dolfins just magical! We hope to see you again sometime, Mahalo - Tiffany
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Good activity and recommended snorkel experience
Vinayak_R
, May 2022
Derek was an amazing guide and made everyone in group comfortable to kayak in open waters and later snorkel with turtles.
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Fanttastic to hear! So happy you felt safe with guide Derek and were able to snorkel with some green sea turtles! Mahalo for your review - Tiffany
star-5
Great time!
Taylor_B
, Apr 2022
Great experience! So cool being able to see so many turtles while snorkeling. And the views from the kayak were amazing! Well worth it to go! Our guide Derek was great!
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Thanks so much for sharing your tour experience with us! Fantastic to hear you had such an epic time with guide Derek and the magestic sea turtles of Maui - Tiffany
star-5
Amazing….
Gemma_P
, Apr 2022
Our guide Kalvin was super, calm and patient. The up close and personal experience with the green turtles is impressive. The small group is a plus.
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Thanks for your lovely review of tour guide Kalvin and your tour with us! So happy you got to see maui's sea turtles. Mahalo, Tiffany
star-5
Must do experience!
Shannon_C
, Mar 2022
Clear bottom kayaking is a perfect way to see both land & sea. The waters crystal clear allowing you to see numerous marine life from within the boat. Calvin was an excellent tour guide. He was very informative about the marine life and formation of the island. He made the experience memorable.
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Yahoo! Great to hear your experience was so memorable with guide Kalvin. Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Mahalo, Tiffany
star-5
Beautiful Tour!
Yuliya_B
, Mar 2022
Great tour mixing kayaking and snorkeling. Saw some turtles and sea life and even a whale from a distance. Our guide Derek was awesome and very accommodating. He made the experience very memorable!
icon Response from Host , May 2022
We are stoked to hear you had a WHALE of a time on our tour with guide Derek! Thanks for sharing your experience. Tiffany
star-5
Great experience
Teena_R
, Mar 2022
Kalvin was so knowledgeable and extremely patient. He made the experience laid back and enjoyable. We had a great time, saw whales, dolphins and a sea turtle. Mahalo
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Wow you saw so much! Sounds like an awesome time and we are so happy to hear! Thanks for your kind review of guide Kalvin. Tiffany
star-3
Stick with regular kayaks
Rick_R
, Mar 2022
The clear boats are a cool idea, but less then ideal as a kayak. You slide around and it isn’t at stable as regular ones. If your goal is to go out far to get close to whales, these arent it.
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Aloha Rick and thank you for your constructive review/feedback. I am sorry to hear that you were sliding around in your clear kayak seat. We do instruct our tour guides to make sure everyone is comfortable in their seats and to adjust and tighten straps on the seats as needed. If the straps are not tightened then yes you will slide around. We apologize that you had that experience. Yes our clear kayaks are definitely unique. Many of our customers share their fantastic experiences during whale season of getting close to whales in our clear kayaks. However, I understand if you were sliding around in your seat then a longer paddle out to whales would not have felt comfortable. Mahalo Tiffany
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Beautiful Unique Experience!
Amanda_K
, Mar 2022
What a fun experience! We saw a whole show of a mama whale teaching the baby whale how to tail slap. We did the kayaking at Olowalu beach, which had a beautiful reef and a view of a valley behind it. I opted out for the snorkeling experience, but the kayaks were just as clear seeing from on top of the water. Calvin was our tour guide and he was very informative and wanted to make sure we were safe. Although I risked it and did not bring my phone in a water safe bag/pouch, I highly recommend this. The only thing is, count on the tour possibly ending later than expected, as we missed our next tour after that because we didn't get to leave until 30 minutes later than expected.
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Aloha Amanda and thanks for sharing such a lovely review. So happy to hear you had such a great time with guide Kalvin and you were able to witness the beautiful whales! I am so sorry to hear you missed your next tour though! We do train our guides to have everybody in from the tours by 10am, however occasionally a tour guide may try to "fit more in" for their guests and the tour may end a little later. We encourage the guides to ask guests during the tour if they need to be back right on 10am so that we can avoid situations like you experienced where you missed your 2nd tour. We apologize for this and I will i form our guides again regarding this. Tiffany
star-5
A beautiful day for an adventure
Kari_D
, Mar 2022
The location had to change due to weather conditions, but we were notified as well in advance as possible. We got out on the water at just the right time, as the whales were putting on quite the surround show. Snorkeling was quite the show as soon as we hopped out of the kayak, including views of a passing Manta Ray. The fish were a bit too far down to see from the bottom of the clear kayak, but the reef and sea turtle made it worth it.
icon Response from Host , May 2022
So cool you got to see a Manta Ray! Thank you for shafing your experience and we are happy to hear you had a WHALE of a time. Tiffany

Why you are seeing these recommendations

Compare Similar Experiences

Current
Clear Kayak and Snorkel Adventure from Kihei
Likely to Sell Out
Clear Kayak and Snorkel Adventure from Kihei

star-5229

3 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$139.50

star-4.5143

2 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$77.03

star-556

3 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$135.00

star-00

2 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$302.70

star-4.588

2 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$102.15

star-5266

1 hour 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$187.50

star-550

3 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$120.43

star-5146

2 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$102.15

star-51120

5 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$208.22
Why you are seeing these recommendations

Explore Similar Things to Do

Why you are seeing these recommendations