Recent Searches
Clear

Half-Day Trip to Mt. Vesuvius from Naples

|
Napoli, Italy
Half-Day Trip to Mt. Vesuvius from Naples
Likely to Sell OutLikely to Sell Out

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults14 Adults15 Adults0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children10 Children11 Children12 Children13 Children14 Children15 Children0 Infants1 Infant2 Infants3 Infants4 Infants5 Infants6 Infants7 Infants8 Infants9 Infants10 Infants11 Infants12 Infants13 Infants14 Infants15 Infants
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


Safety measures
icon4 hours  (Approx.)
Pickup from select hotels
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English and 3 more

Overview

Get up close to fiery Mt. Vesuvius on a half-day tour from Naples. After traveling to the highest vehicle-accessible point, hike up a mountain path to the crater’s lip. Peer deep into the earth, then gaze outwards at the Bay of Naples as a volcanologist explains the volcano’s history and the devastating impact of its AD 79 eruption. Numbers are limited to a maximum of 25 people.
  • Half-day guided Mt. Vesuvius tour from Naples
  • Travel high up the mountain in a climate-controlled vehicle
  • Hike up a footpath to the summit of the crater and take a look inside
  • Have a camera on hand to capture the views of the Bay of Naples
  • Listen to a volcanologist to learn about Mt. Vesuvius and Pompeii
Saved to wishlist!
Air-conditioned vehicle
Hotel/port pickup and drop-off
Live commentary on board
Guaranteed to skip the long lines
Volcanologist guide at the summit of Vesuvius
Bottled water
Wine tasting
Mt Vesuvius entrance fee
Gratuities

Departure Point

P.za Giuseppe Garibaldi, 91, 80142 Napoli NA, Italy

Departure Time

12:00 PM

Return Details

Returns to original departure point
Start your tour with pickup from the Naples port or your hotel, then travel in air-conditioned comfort to the town of Pompeii. Travel high up the towering volcano to the highest point that’s accessible by vehicle. From this point, take a steep hike to the top. Hiking boots or walking shoes are recommended.

As you near the crater’s edge, peer down into the heart of the volcano to see the smoldering steam that wisps from below. The outward views are impressive, too. If you cast your eyes away from the volcano, you are rewarded with commanding vistas that sweep over the Bay of Naples.

While at the summit, meet one of the national park’s volcanologist guides. Learn about the fiery volcano through its geology and history, and hear stories about the destruction of Herculaneum and Pompeii back in AD 79.

Leave Mt. Vesuvius after the presentation, and travel back to Naples. Your excursion then ends with drop-off at the start point.
Itinerary
Pass By:  
Vesuvius National Park
Painted over the centuries by various artists, Mt. Vesuvius id the natural landmark of the Bay of Naples. Tragically known as the destroyer of the cities of Pompeii and Herculaneum, this volcano is a “must-see” sightseeing place for each tourist.
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Travelers should have a moderate physical fitness level
  • Cruise ship passengers must provide the following information at time of booking: ship name, docking time, disembarkation time and re-boarding time
  • A minimum of 2 people per booking is required
  • Operates in all weather conditions, please dress appropriately
  • Subject to favorable weather conditions. If canceled due to poor weather, you will be given the option of an alternative date or alternative tour
  • Your tour operator will collect the Mt. Vesuvius entrance fee on board the bus in order to secure your skip the line tickets from the ticket office "guide's counter"
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 40 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Worldtours
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during Half-Day Trip to Mt. Vesuvius from Naples?
A:The policies on face masks and attendee health are:

  • Face masks required for travelers in public areas
  • Face masks required for guides in public areas
  • Temperature checks for travelers upon arrival
See all safety measures taken by Half-Day Trip to Mt. Vesuvius from Naples.
Q:
What is the policy on sanitization during Half-Day Trip to Mt. Vesuvius from Naples?
A:The policies on sanitization are:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
See all safety measures taken by Half-Day Trip to Mt. Vesuvius from Naples.
Q:
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Half-Day Trip to Mt. Vesuvius from Naples?
A:The policy on staff health & safety is:

  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
See all safety measures taken by Half-Day Trip to Mt. Vesuvius from Naples.

Traveler Photos

See More
See More

Traveler Tips


  • "The trek to the top was a bit steep, but the path is well maintained - wear a sturdy pair of shoes and bring a container of water." See review

Reviews

4.0
star-4
28 Reviews

Reviews by Viator travelers

Showing 1-10 of 28 reviews
star-4
Nice Vesuvius trip
Caroline_S
, Sep 2021
We did have a beautiful trip with Mariangela. The bus was a perfect small coach. The wine tasting was really excellent.. and vesuvius was the what whe come for.... All well organised...
star-4
Great driver but no tour guide!
Laura_I
, Sep 2021
I'm giving this tour 4 stars because our driver was amazing. He went around the city of Napoli and picked up the 5 people signed up for the tour and delivered us to a lovely restaurant close to the entrance of the entrance of the Mt Vesuvius hike and got us all back safely. I say safely because part of the road up feels a bit like being on a roller coaster. If it weren't for the driver, I would only be giving this tour TWO STARS. As for the restaurant, the food was excellent and the wine quite tasty. The hike was challenging but lots of fun and the reward of seeing the top of the volcano was well worth the effort. The disappointing part was there was no guide at all to tell us anything about the volcano as once the driver dropped at the entrance there was no one there to assist us. As it turned out, we were very lucky as all 7 of us on the tour connected and helped each other. Recommend the tour, however it may be a bit of a hit or miss based on the driver you get and the people who you meet.
star-5
Mt. Vesuvius TOur
bernini1680
, Sep 2018
OUTSTANDING!!! The tour staff was excellent and the tour was everything that we thought it would be and more ... much more. The trek to the top was a bit steep, but the path is well maintained - wear a sturdy pair of shoes and bring a container of water. The view into the crater was spectacular. And, from the top of Mt. Vesuvius is breathtaking with views of the Bay of Naples. A great tour experience :-)
star-4
The site is great and worthy a visit...
Simona C
, Jan 2018
The site is great and worthy a visit, our guide was very average.
star-3
The minibus was clean not...
Tim
, Oct 2017
The minibus was clean not overcrowded and on time. The guide, who we picked up at Pompeii, was friendly and chatty. An easy way to get to Vesuvius and back. Having now spent time in Naples the public train and bus services are easy to use, cheap and reliable and knowing this we would self guide in the future.
star-5
Wonderful experience, climbing the...
Terrence W P
, Oct 2017
Wonderful experience, climbing the path up to the lip of the crater of Mt. Vesuvius on our small group excursion from Naples cruise ship port. Our mini bus took us to the highest vehicle-accessible point which reduced the long hike which other were doing. The views of the Bay of Naples, Isle of Capri and Amalfi coastline were magnificent. A great trip.
star-3
the view was amazing, the amount of...
alona l
, Sep 2017
the view was amazing, the amount of time the organiseres gave us was just enough. the ride to the top of the mountine was a little bit hard. i would defaintly recomend it. they were on time, very nice, and we had no worries on our mind.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-3
Just to start off the company you...
Katie M
, Jul 2017
Just to start off the company you book the tours through and the company that actually takes you on the tour are different. So we got picked up and there was a mix up between the two companies. The company we were actually going with had us down for Pompeii and Vesuvius. We showed them our voucher and then they offered us the Pompeii tour anyways since that's where the bus was going first, however we had just done the Pompeii and Herculaneum tour the day before and had plans that afternoon so we didn't want to do Pompeii again. Once we got to Pompeii the staff ended up finding us another driver to bring us to Vesuvius and then back to our hotel. This was great how they were able to fix it however we did not get the Volcanologist like we had booked or the live commentary on board which was a huge bummer, as we specifically booked this tour to get the Volcanologist at the top.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-1
DO NOT BOOK THIS TOUR!!! Its...
Jack C
, Jun 2017
DO NOT BOOK THIS TOUR!!! Its a rip off, you will be better off hiring a car yourself and driving up I was promised several things which failed to deliver. Firstly the voucher/tour description states we would have the following: -Transport via air conditioned coach -Live commentary during the journey -A volcanologist guide at Mt. Vesuvius -Bottled water Unfortunately we only received transport via coach, which had no air-conditioning, we did not see a volcanologist guide, no bottled water and there was no commentary on the bus. We were placed in a mini bus with around 6 other people, we followed a larger bus, our driver Alexander I think it was his name did not provide any commentary, the only time he spoke was when someone asked a question. At the entry point to the mountain we asked questions and were told to ask the guide who was non existent- we could not see any guides anywhere as the driver nor the lady with him knew any answers and neither offered water so we chose to buy some at the top of the mountain. If these so called guides are at the top of the mountain and along the way this should be put into the tour description as they company is not providing this service - this was Mis sold as I believed from All information at the time of booking the tour company would provide the guide. We just felt that the trip was basically a taxi ride to the mountain a drop of and collection, the only interaction was between the 8 passengers. Who also felt short changed Another point I would like to bring forward is the lack of toilet facilities on the top of the mountain there was one small toilet with no running water which was very dirty, this should be highlighted as limited bathroom facilities on the tour description and a stop should be made before driving up the mountain as clients are aware. This was sold on a misleading basis and as a supplier you have the responsibility to provide the service as promised.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2017
TOUR OPERATOR COMMENTARY: Dear Jack, I'm Mafalda a guide with Worldtours. I'm very sorry to hear that your tour wasn't enjoyable. As you can see from the other reviews we are a serious company and we always take care of our guests. As such, we appreciate your feedback as this will help us improve our tours for others. Sometimes we can encounter a misunderstanding but we always try our best to work things out. To be completely honest, I'll try to answer you, point after point, based on the complaints within your review. Regarding the air-condition on the coach, as policy we tend to have the air conditioning set very low to help accommodate everyone's comfort levels. Guests are able to ask for the air to be turned up, but not everyone has the same tolerance for cold air. We apologize if the setting was not enough and made your journey uncomfortable. The commentary on the bus depends on the Tour Guide personally. The length and details presented can vary at the guide's discretion, depending on what the guests are showing interest in. We don't have pre-packaged tour commentary or scripts. Each of our tours is tailor made so if the guide sees that a particular group is enjoying themselves talking to each other, they will stay quiet rather than interrupt, and vice-versa. The vulcanological guides on top of the mountain are supplied through a different company for all visitors' enjoyment. These are specifically certified guides there for safety and informational reasons. They can always be found on top of the crater. As soon as a group assembles in their presense, they are ready to explain to you everything related to Vesuvius. Bottles of water are typically on board each of our vehicles. Guests need only ask to receive one. However, if found this was not the case, then I don't have an explanation and I want to apologize for this inconvenience. We will ensure this does not happen to future guests. The lack of toilet facilities are unfortunately out of our control, but you are correct when you suggested that this should be highlighted as limited bathroom facilities on the tour description. We will be sure to address this and perhaps add a stop to use facilities before driving up the mountain. We appreciate your suggestions and honest feedback and hope you were still able to enjoy your time visiting Mt. Vesuvius.
star-5
Absolutely beautiful hike...
Robert H
, May 2017
Absolutely beautiful hike. Fascinating. Wear the proper shoes as the path is soft. Stop and catch your breath on the way up, but you will make it within 30 minutes

Compare Similar Experiences

Current
Half-Day Trip to Mt. Vesuvius from Naples
Likely to Sell Out
Half-Day Trip to Mt. Vesuvius from Naples

star-428

4 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$84.27

star-3.576

4 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$77.00

star-4.5158

7 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$122.26

star-420

4 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$65.28

star-42093

7 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$115.50

star-4.5713

4 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$77.00

star-4.5115

8 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$105.64

star-4.511

5 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$94.96

star-00

4 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$121.07

Explore Similar Things to Do