Recent Searches
Clear

Small Group or Private Pompeii with Amalfi Coast Drive and Positano from Rome

star-4.5679 Reviews
|
Badge of Excellence
|
Roma, Italy
Small Group or Private Pompeii with Amalfi Coast Drive and Positano from Rome
46

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults14 Adults15 Adults0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children10 Children11 Children12 Children13 Children14 Children15 Children0 Infants1 Infant2 Infants3 Infants4 Infants5 Infants6 Infants7 Infants8 Infants9 Infants10 Infants11 Infants12 Infants13 Infants14 Infants15 Infants
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


Safety measures
icon13 hours  (Approx.)
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English

Overview

Check off two UNESCO-listed wonders on this full-day tour from Rome—the mighty ruins of Pompeii and the idyllic Amalfi Coast. First, discover the relics of one of ancient Rome’s most important cities as you walk around Pompeii and stand in awe before the world’s oldest surviving Roman amphitheater. Then, soak up the scenery along the Amalfi Coast and stop for lunch (own expense) in the picturesque fishing village of Positano. This small-group tour is limited to 18 people, ensuring a personalized experience.
  • Full-day tour of Pompeii, the Amalfi Coast, and Positano from Rome
  • Explore the ancient Roman ruins of Pompeii, a UNESCO World Heritage Site
  • Travel by comfortable air-conditioned minibus
  • Small-group tour limited to 18 people ensures a personalized experience

Why Travelers Choose This Tour

Stop in Positano after a guided tour of Pompeii with a small group—a rare combo from Rome.
Saved to wishlist!
Round-trip transport from Rome
Expert Pompeii tour guide
Guided tour at Pompeii and introduction to Positano town
Small groups max 10 people
Free time in Positano town (lunch not included)
Expert local guide
Gratuities
Hotel pickup and drop-Off
Lunch

Departure Point

Piazzale Flaminio, 5, 6, 00196 Roma RM, Italy

Departure Time

7:15 AM

Return Details

Piazzale Flaminio, Roma RM, Italy
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • • From August 6th 2021, all Italy sites we visit will require clients and guides alike to provide proof of vaccination or a negative COVID test completed within 48 hours prior to entry. They will also require a legal form of ID matching the vaccination or test results. More info on the Italian Government website
  • Unfortunately we are unable to accommodate guests with mobility impairments, wheelchairs or strollers on this tour
  • In the winter months we might replace Positano with Amalfi Town as more shops and restaurants are open there during this time.
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • Infants must sit on laps
  • Not recommended for travelers with back problems
  • Not recommended for pregnant travelers
  • No heart problems or other serious medical conditions
  • Please note that lunch is not included in this service. You will have free time to eat at Positano and your guide will be happy to recommend places to eat a full sit-down meal or to grab something quick while shopping
  • Travelers should have a moderate physical fitness level
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 10 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Walks - Italy, Spain & Greece

For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.

  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during Small Group or Private Pompeii with Amalfi Coast Drive and Positano from Rome?
A:
The policies on face masks and attendee health are:

  • Face masks required for travelers in public areas
  • Face masks required for guides in public areas
  • Face masks provided for travelers
See all safety measures taken by Small Group or Private Pompeii with Amalfi Coast Drive and Positano from Rome.
Q:
What is the policy on sanitization during Small Group or Private Pompeii with Amalfi Coast Drive and Positano from Rome?
A:
The policy on sanitization is:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
See all safety measures taken by Small Group or Private Pompeii with Amalfi Coast Drive and Positano from Rome.
Q:
What is the social distancing policy during Small Group or Private Pompeii with Amalfi Coast Drive and Positano from Rome?
A:
The policy on social distancing is:

  • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
See all safety measures taken by Small Group or Private Pompeii with Amalfi Coast Drive and Positano from Rome.
Q:
What is the maximum group size during Small Group or Private Pompeii with Amalfi Coast Drive and Positano from Rome?
A:
This activity will have a maximum of 10 travelers.

See all safety measures taken by Small Group or Private Pompeii with Amalfi Coast Drive and Positano from Rome.

Traveler Photos

Traveler Tips


  • "Definitely wear comfortable shoes - while it's not hilly, the ground is quite uneven so you have to be careful walking." See review
  • "Don't make this drive if you are prone to car sickness!" See review

Reviews

4.5
star-4.5
679 Reviews

Reviews by Viator travelers

Showing 1-10 of 679 reviews
star-5
Great trip!
Todd
, Aug 2021
If you have time during your stay, I would highlight recommend this day trip! Great way to see both the beautiful Amalfi Coast and Pompei, a preserved look at the past unlike anywhere else I’ve ever seen!
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Wonderful Tour, Amazing Guide
Katherine_H
, Aug 2021
Wonderful experience. Federico was so friendly and knowledgable, you can tell that he is passionate about what he does. The three hour drive didn't seem as long when he pointed out different regions as historical points along the way. When we reached Pompeii, we were met by our very knowlegable archeological tour guide Ilaria, who had experience at the Pompeii dig site. She was so much fun and was able to paint a picture of what life was like in ancient Pompeii from the artifacts found there. We then went to Positano, where Federico was able to recommend great restaurants and places to shop. Along the way we were able to see the beautiful Almafi coast while hearing about the history of the region and we passed by key sites. Would highly recommend this tour!
icon Response from Host , Aug 2021
Hi Katherine, Thank you so much for choosing Walks and for taking the time to share this wonderful feedback. Walks really work hard to get - and keep - the very best guides in the business so you know you will always be in good hands, and never more so than with Federico and Ilaria. So happy you had an amazing day and thank you again!
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Amazing day trip Amalfi coast, Positano
Manish_K
, Jul 2021
Had an amazing day tour from Rome to Positano. The guide Pavel was fantastic and gave us all the information about the local sites came in our way till Amalfi coast. He was very nice, humble and friendly all the time. We met Francesca at Pompeii, she narrated all the happenings and guided us all around the region. This day tour is recommended to all whoever is planning to visit Positano from Rome. Cheers. For Pavel - Allora guys....
HelpfulHelpful1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Pompeii and Positano - Highly Recommended!
Stan_Tillman
, Jul 2021
A fantastic tour! Either Pompeii or Positano would be amazing by themselves, but together they create an unforgettable experience! I have been to other excavated sites, but none have been so well preserved as Pompeii - it was a very large city so these ruins are massive and give a great sense of how a sea city looked and worked. Positano was beautiful! I highly recommend Chez Black as a restaurant - wonderful food, but a better experience! There are a lot of cute shops - if I had any critique of the tour, it would be that we needed about another hour to explore Positano (meaning more shopping time). Overall, it was a great trip and I highly recommend it!
icon Response from Host , Jul 2021
Hi Stan, Thanks so much for your feedback. Absolutely delighted that you enjoyed the day trip so much. We will definitely explore the possibility of adding in more time - your opinions are invaluable to us and thank you again for taking the time.
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Such an awesome experience
Tom_S
, Jul 2021
I highly recommend this tour to anyone who wants to see a big more than just Rome. Our tour guide Andrea was awesome and explained everything in a clear and funny way. The tour of Pompei was guided by Paolo, who helped us to understand what the city would have looked like in an informative and funny way as well. The drive along the Amalfi coast was just stunning. All the small towns were so cute, especially Positano. This little town is just gorgeous and Instagram worthy.
icon Response from Host , Jul 2021
Hi Tom, Thank you for taking part in a Walks tour, and thank you also for taking the time to give us such wonderful feedback. Walks take great care to curate our tours to give you the best possible experience, with the best guides - it is always lovely to hear that you feel we got it right!
HelpfulHelpful
star-1
Terrible tour
AdrianVeidt
, Jul 2021
Terrible tour. What’s the point of giving the users the phone tour guide phone number if no one answers it. I arrived 5 minutes late (it’s a new city and the traffic is atrocious) and they had already left. Same thing happened to another person. They don’t wait for anyone. It’s a scam.
icon Response from Host , Jul 2021
Hi Adrian, I am so sorry to hear that you missed your tour. We do ask guests to arrive 15 mins before the tour departs to enable a punctual departure. Our main reason in doing this is because delaying a tour can upset our guests who do arrive on time. I have no record of you contacting us for the tour guide's number which generally speaking we do not give out. This decision was made because guests with the tour guide can become frustrated if instead of hosting them they are on the phone. But our Customer Care team should have been able to assist you. Would you be so kind as to contact us again and give us a little more detail. I understand how valuable your time is when on holiday and I would love to look into finding a satisfactory outcome to this situation. Thank you.
HelpfulHelpful1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Amazing Pompeii and Positano
Karen_A
, Jul 2021
Enjoyed the trip with Javel. He had a lot of good information along the journey. Our guide in Pompeii was excellent. Walks does an excellent job selecting knowledgeable guides. He is an archaeologist and described life in Pompeii before the eruption. What can you say of Positano but beautiful. There is really only enough time to eat and stick your feet in the Mediterranean. Many many cute shops but no time.
icon Response from Host , Jul 2021
Hi Karen, Thank you so much for taking the time to recognize our efforts to ensure your tour is the best possible experience it can be. Walks do work very hard to find, train and keep - not only the best guides in the business but also the right guide for the right tour. It is wonderful to hear this worked out perfectly for you. Thank you again!
HelpfulHelpful1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Excellent service, marvelous experience
Alma_V
, Jul 2021
This was an incredible experience. Daniel was our driver and Anna was our guide at Pompeii. Both were extremely knowledgeable, friendly, helpful. This ended up being a private tour for my daughter and I as the other party didn’t make it. They both recommended a great place to eat in Positano, movies to learn more about the incredible places we visited. You can tell they love their work. Such an incredible time. Highly recommend !!
icon Response from Host , Jul 2021
Hi Alma, Thank you so much. This is a pleasure to read. There is so much work - and passion - that goes into creating each of our experiences, with our guides at the forefront of that. Delighted to hear that you loved your tour. Thanks!
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Magical day trip to Amalfi coast
Holly_M
, Jul 2021
Beautiful scenery all the way. The driver/ guide was friendly and knowledgeable. This was a very professionally managed trip. The details were exactly as advertised. I thoroughly enjoyed this all day excursion and loved meeting the other six people that toured with me.
icon Response from Host , Jul 2021
Hello Holly, Thank you for sharing how much you enjoyed your tour. Walks do our very best to get it spot on every time and it is wonderful to know that you feel we do. Hope to see you again soon
HelpfulHelpful1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Pompeii Tour
Elizabeth_S
, Jul 2021
Both guides were extremely knowledgeable and very very nice and polite. I would definitely take another tour with this agency.
HelpfulHelpful1 traveler found this review helpful

Explore Similar Things to Do